Ghosts aren’t the boss of me

Lucy and her story is the reason I started this post and I don’t want to pretty it up.  After yesterday’s post, I would be a hypocrite if I did.  But. But. “NorCal History” doesn’t say it my posts will always be about the settlement period, Lucy or the Indian Wars.  This may seem like a no-brainer to everyone else, but for me it was a revelation. 

I think the ghosts will be ok if I take a break every once in a while to talk about lighter things.  Fun things.  History related, of course. 

I love old homes.  I ogle old houses like others ogle movie stars or naked people.  Seriously.  I could get arrested for being peeping , what,  Tammy, maybe?  But instead of trying to see people, I am trying to see an old fireplace mantle or ornate window trim.

Houses have histories, just like people do.  They tell stories, too.   I look forward to sharing some of them here.

Bret Harte, friend to Mark Twain and writer of Gold Rush fiction, lived in Arcata for a time in the 1850s

Bret Harte, friend to Mark Twain and writer of Gold Rush fiction, lived in Arcata for a time in the 1850s

3 Responses to Ghosts aren’t the boss of me

  1. nikolaykotev says:

    New Blog for military history with URL: http://nikkotev.wordpess.co/ and name “War “Photoblog – II”
    Nikolay Kotev

  2. Kym says:

    There is one
    http://www.fourstarrealty.net/2301Fairfeld/index.html
    on Fairfield that I loved that a Capt built in the late 1800′s. Its for sale. We almost bought it but then the furloughs happened.

    • lynette77 says:

      And with a gourmet kitchen even :-)…
      What a bummer.
      Wow, so if you could have pulled it off, would you have joined us up here in the fog??? Before we moved to this house, I used to go to open houses, just the old ones, just to be able to get inside and walk around. There is just something so special about an old home. They give off a different vibe, somehow, that I love. Well, the furloughs won’t go on forever (I hope !)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

