Building Local Businesses

I have been trying to think of how to give an upcoming North Coast SBDC Procurement Fair a historical perspective and though I probably could-exploring the evolution of small business in Humboldt County, etc., I think I’ll just go ahead and say that the North Coast Small Business Development Center (SBDC) and North Coast Lead Center are clients and I am helping to promote a Procurement Fair happening in March that offers local businesses an opportunity to connect with government and institutional buyers and open new doors to sales opportunities.

Oh, for historical context, see this blog entry about the Stump House.  I don’t know that they could have survived with help with the North Coast SBDC,  but they might have…

Eureka.StumpHouse.

Learn more about the Procurement Fair by calling North Coast SBDC Director Michael Kraft at (707)445-1163 or emailing him at kraft@northcoastsbdc.org.

You can also just register for the workshop (which will be great) by clicking HERE. There is no charge to attend.

12 Responses to Building Local Businesses

  1. Nan Abrams says:

    The earliest merchants provided for the miners. They could never have prospered without the miners having gold to spend in their mercantile establishments. A lesson for the current grappling of economic forces–or should we say “non-forces”?

    • Lynette M says:

      Huh. I’ll have to think about that. If I am reading you correctly it is the lack of demand that is hurting us right now? I think lots of folks are also more cautious now-a-days with the economy. And I know the changes in our green economy have some folks worried-prices have already dropped and there just isn’t the $$ there used to be….

      • Nan Abrams says:

        Well, you said it–there just isnt the money there used to be. When there is no demand/no money to spend, the merchants fail. Whatever the reason–gold runs out, wages stagnate, the freeway bypasses the town. .. I just visited a town south east of Joshua Tree–Desert Center– interstate 10 left it behind. Nothing is left but empty store fronts, historic signs and the post office–catering I am sure to the residents of the resort that was built in the desert behind the remnants of the town. The grocery store is shut down–the people who live at the resort drive half an hour to buy groceries. Some enterprising person may see an opportunity there and reopen the grocery. And there may be an economy of sorts there once again.

        • Lynette M says:

          I am torn because change/growth can be good and is inevitable, but I don’t like to see so many commercial areas die because of “progress”. I just wish owners could be required to maintain historic buildings at least minimally (to avoid damage) until they can be reused/repurposed… Too many are left to rot into the ground.

          • Nan Abrams says:

            Driving through Texas (I live in my motor home and spend a lot of time in Texas when on the road) I see small town after small town that is left to literally decay. When the population moves away because the work is gone, there is no reason to maintain the infrastructure–and I would imagine land is not valuable here like it is in California. A few people still live in some of these towns but one would wonder why–maybe very cheap rent–or none at all–and some of the folks do work somewhere nearby. Anyway, you take towns like Langtry –or where I am now, D’Hanis–or even Tombstone–people still live there–they are not exactly ghost towns– a few neighborhoods, a few businesses that cater to tourists and maybe a “general store”–and here in D’Hanis there is a brick manufacturing plant–and I guess there is a pipeline going on somewhere nearby. There is even a historic hotel that is now a B&B –but many buildings –abandoned homes and businesses –are just left to rot. They make great photo ops . . .

            • Lynette M says:

              I had fun traveling along I-5 looking at some of those abandoned buildings–which are cool when you don’t think about how sad it is… I plan to go back w/ my camera someday soon.

  2. nan abrams says:

    yeah, don’t think about it . . . just snap away.

    • Lynette M says:

      Actually today I was thinking I want to do the same right in Eureka. We’ve got some great old buildings and they are easy to overlook when you see them everyday. New project, maybe…

  3. nan abrams says:

    just dont be redundant!

  4. nan abrams says:

    oh, I did not mean your postings are redundant–I meant when you take photos of the historic buildings don’t photograph ones that have already been done and in the public domain. I bet there are some hidden away somewhere . ..

    • Lynette M says:

      I’m sure that is true-though part of the fun is the exercise of taking the photo. It forces me to look more carefully at everything and notice details I would never see if I was just looking at another’s photo. We’ll see how my plan plays out, tho…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

