How this came to be, part 1

Two days before I “met” Kym Kemp over the phone, I told myself I should create a blog about local history, like Ernie Branscomb’s , but focus it more on the northern part of Humboldt County.  Ernie has an incredible site that offers a lot of info about Southern Humboldt history, and provides a forum for others to share what they know.  

After telling myself I should have a blog, I realized I had no idea of how to start, and because the idea intimidated the hell out of me, I let it go.   Until two days ago when I met Kym.  I talked to her of my interest in history, and she suggested I start a blog.  When I told her I had zero aptitude for creating such things, she offered to walk me through it.  And did.  Thank you, Kym.  Very much.  All the glitchy, ugly things are mine.  Give credit to Kym for anything that looks good.

4 Responses to How this came to be, part 1

  1. Kym says:

    Ah, Shucks! I love the old fashioned photo header. Where is that from?

  2. lynette77 says:

    Glad you like it. It is early Ft. Humboldt. If you haven’t checked out the museum in the old hospital building, it is definitely worth the trip. Outlines the history of the fort in all its grim and ugly detail. Has lots of photos and really gives a feel for how things were during the “indian wars”.

  3. Kym says:

    I’ve never been there and I keep meaning to go.

    • Lynette M says:

      Helena?
      Seriously just 1/4 mile off 299. Very cool, though someone did point out that photo-documented my trespassing. Maybe not the best idea.

      I am really bummed we missed dinner, by the way. Maybe there will be another opportunity soon?

Leave a Reply

