Unexpected opportunity

Old Mattole Pier

Old Mattole Pier

I  just returned from two days of volunteering at an archeological site survey near the mouth of the Mattole River and feel like the luckiest history junkie I know.  Jamie Roscoe’s team was doing work for the Bureau of Land Management to identify any potentially important cultural resource sites, and needed extra bodies to cover some ground.  I raised my hand (actually,  I put my name on a volunteer list)  and yesterday there I was.

I’ll write more tomorrow about how it felt to ride along the same wagon road that Buckskin Jack Mann would have used, or to be along a river with so much history.

Suffice to say for now that it was a wonderful experience.  We didn’t find much but even the possibility of finding something was enough for me.

One Response to Unexpected opportunity

  1. […] your history The first evening I was in on the coast this week,  the survey crew had the privilege of meeting Jamie Roscoe’s dad Jim.  During the course of our […]

Leave a Reply

