Volunteer opportunity at historic Falk

Ox Team hauling redwoods

Ox team hauling redwoods

Anyone with interest in history and even a little bit of extra time this fall should get out their phones.

Humboldt State University will be holding a historical archaeology field school during the fall,  2009 semester  in the historic town of Falk  and the public is invited to participate.

The field work will happen during october and november, between the rainy days.  Folks can just volunteer or can sign up through HSU and receive credit.  You’ll be digging in the dirt with the archeologists, looking for historical “treasure”.

Call  Jamie Roscoe or Bill Rich at the HSU Cultural Resources Facility at (707)  826-5247  for more info or to sign up.  You can also call Dave Johnson, archaeologst at the Arcata BLM at (707) 825-2320 for more info.

The excavations will be conducted at the dancehall and a small bachelor’s cabin site.  Bill Rich says they are also looking for anyone with stories about this dance hall or any other,  and artifacts from the area.  

Anyone with info or an extra ounce of energy they want to spend at the site should give ’em a call.

5 Responses to Volunteer opportunity at historic Falk

  1. Kym says:

    That sounds like so much fun. I wonder if I can get my 16 year old to sign up with me.

    • lynette77 says:

      Doesn’t it? I don’t know if there are any age requirements… I’ll give ’em a call and see.

      I volunteered again yesterday and though we didn’t find much of anything, I still had a blast. There is something about digging in the dirt…. and the possibility of finding something… 🙂

  2. Michael Shreeve says:

    A friend and I used to be able to “visit” old falk in the late 50s. We remember an old livery stable with jars of jam in the window, an old house with stove and stovepipe heated bath tub on the other side of the wall in the bathroom, and an old gas pump. We would really appreciate photos of falk during this era and would love it if they are on the web. Allen Kirkpatrick is my friend and is in the San Diego area. I am Michael Shreeve.

    • Lynette M says:

      Hi Michael,
      I do have some old photos of Falk I’ll dig up and post this week.
      Glad you found me ! There is a book written about Falk. Let me know if you haven’t found it and I’ll find the title for you.

Leave a Reply

