Addiction without the calories or crime

I received a phone call from an old friend and researcher the other day who expressed some frustration that he’d been pulled back into the research and the history of this area, in part because of this blog.  I didn’t really feel the need to apologize, but I could certainly relate.

Once you head down the road of historical research, the promise of something right around the bend keeps you going. And going.  And going.  Treasure hunters and fishermen likely feel the same way.  The next cast, the next voyage, the next book, conversation, or click on the internet … information is an historian’s treasure and there is a lot of it out there, somewhere…

It doesn’t help that ghosts seem to want the stories told and keep dropping little hints like breadcrumbs.

Historical research is addictive without the calories or crime, but it does alter your thinking and behavior. And like other addictions, it can interfere with your relationships, work and other hobbies.  I don’t know a genealogist with a computer who doesn’t use  the phrase “just a few more minutes…”, or a historian without a pile of books waiting to be read…  who doesn’t feel the pull of an estate sale like metal to a magnet.  There could be an old journal or diary among the fifty cent  paperbacks…

It is better to feel passionate about something, I figure, than to just watch t.v. and wait for vacations.  I have an addiction and aren’t I the lucky one 🙂

7 Responses to Addiction without the calories or crime

  1. […] the investigate and the story of this area, in conception because … Read the rest here: Addiction without the calories or evildoing « Lynette's NorCal History … Posted in Uncategorized | Tags: and-researcher, area, back-into, been-pulled, calories, […]

  2. Kym says:

    I know what you mean!

    • lynette77 says:

      I have to remind myself it could be worse 🙂

      And just think that most folks watch, what, four hours of tv a day. Just think of all the research time that gives us …

  3. JB says:

    “I have an addiction and aren’t I the lucky one”. Amen! but unfortunately this one doesn’t pay the bills(in most cases). Apparently not a good enough reason for some of us to give it up for good, as is the case with most true addictions.

    • lynette77 says:

      OK, but here’s the thing. I know we need to work to pay the bills, but most of us will leave that all behind when we retire (or get all old and wrinkled and slow).
      But, But ! this kind of research, this kind of passion, commitment, obsession, whatever, will continue to get us out of bed in the morning long after any “job” is over.
      And, if we write and share what we learn (hint, hint) , this kind of research can also contribute more in the long run, for more generations, then any ole’ job.

      Genealogy is a good example. If you do your genealogy, your descendants one hundred years from now can build on your research (and it may take one hundred years because interest in this stuff seems to skip a generation or two). Someone will care eventually, though, of that I’m sure.

  4. Omr says:

    I used to mine crystals in every spare hour. Now my body doesn’t. History has the same rich vein allure, the-keep-on-into-the-night-sure-the-next-search-page or-link-will-reveal-new-treasures. And so I slump over book and keyboard for hours daily, and more.
    I am not addicted nor do I have CHD (Compulsive Historian Disorder)or anything like that. Ha.

    • lynette77 says:

      Ooooh, I like Compulsive Historian Disorder ! Very apt description. I’ll say again, aren’t we the lucky ones !

Leave a Reply

