’64 Flood, Bridge North of Rio Dell

North of Rio Dell, 1964

I figured I’d get another flood photo in to go with the theme (though if we don’t get more rain soon, I think I’ll have to hunt for drought pictures…). 

I grew up in Rio Dell and watched part of one of the north bridges go again in… I think it was the winter of 1986.   Trees and stumps and other debris began to pile up on one side of the bridge, and I wondered why they didn’t get a crane in there and remove it all (anyone could see that the bridge wouldn’t withstand the force).  At the time it didn’t occur to me that there might not be a crane that big in Humboldt County.  And if there was, that such an operation would be way too dangerous.   And so the river took the bridge. 

I know floods are expensive,  and tragic for those who get injured or lose their lives, but  that much water is… awesome.  When I was young, during flood events I’d watch whole trees float down the Eel.  Our house was above the river and we had a great view.  

We get all caught up in controlling our lives, but all it takes is one natural “disaster” to remind us of how powerless we really are.  I find it very humbling (and a bit of a relief, actually) .

7 Responses to ’64 Flood, Bridge North of Rio Dell

  1. unanonymous says:

    the log jam in ’86 also had hundreds(?) of snakes on it washed up in the debris. Kings, grass and a few rattlers. We spent the morning during a lull in the rain clambering over the log jam exploring with CalTrans workers yelling at us to got off before we die. It washed out a few days later in more rains.

    Looks like a 1964 magnitude flood again would put quite a few houses under water today.

    • lynette77 says:

      Ok, so the snake story kinda freaked me out a bit, even though my son has had a pet snake for years and I usually argue with anyone who says snakes are creepy.

      I shared this comment with someone tonight and all they could say was “Why…?!?!?”

      Glad the river didn’t wash you away !

      I can’t really imagine what a major flood would do today. It seems like there are a lot of houses (and in Fortuna, a few businesses) in the areas that I remember being completely submerged a time or two…

  2. Kym says:

    Didn’t part of that bridge go down also with an earthquake? It just seems to get all the breaks…

    • lynette77 says:

      Hmmm, it seems like it was the bridge at the south end of Rio Dell that had problems after the earthquake, but I’m not sure…

      I know you’re in SoHum and I love driving by the signs that show the high water marks from ’64. Wonderful reminder of what is entirely possible.

  3. Rio Kid says:

    The north Rio Dell bridge originally had three green arches. Following the 1964 flood, the third arch was replaced with a “skyway” type design. The same bridge washed out in 1986 and traffic was rerouted on the southbound bridge for several years.

  4. Michele Hackney Stockman says:

    Dear Lynette,
    You have an interesting site. It’s wonderful that you are writing it down for yourself & future generations.
    My question is this:
    I’m SLOWLY writing a children’s book and the setting is during the 1964 flood…I was a 10 yr. old girl in Fortuna @ the time. What I’m wondering is what info or recollections do you have of the Blue Slide Road area during that time? I’m mostly thinking of the Nally’s home just @ the beginning of Blue Slide Rd.
    I’d so much appreciate hearing from you.
    Thank you,
    Michele 🙂
    email address: violetswamp@sbcglobal.net

  5. Tom Lisle says:

    Lynette,
    I would like to use this photo for a press release about a 50-year commemoration of the 1964 flood to be held at the Arcata Theater Lounge on December 21. Do you have the copyright or the source of the photo?
    Thanks.
    Tom

Leave a Reply

