Stump House

Stump House, South Broadway, Eureka, c. 1933

Just last night, after too many months of trying,  I was able to access the historic photos stored on my old computer.  I started looking through them  and am posting this one just for fun. 

I remember The Stump House on South Broadway when I was a kid growing up here, but don’t know what became of it.  I think it was where Verizon is now.  Or maybe Dutch Bros. 

I also remember some odd sort of land-bound boat just south of the King Salmon freeway exit.  Maybe once upon a time it was a restaurant, or maybe my parents just dreamed of turning it into one.  I think it burned one night and disappeared…

27 Responses to Stump House

  1. Gregg says:

    The place south of Eureka was “Shipwreck”. You can still see the stubbed out poles from the “masts” there. It was a tourist place.

    • lynette77 says:

      Shipwreck. Huh. I don’t know that I ever saw it open, so missed its heyday.

      Have you ever been to the funky/kinda scary “ship” store just north of Crescent City? My daughter and I went through it once, and I think it has… like animal corpses and all kinds of crazy things in the “museum” under the deck.

      • Gregg says:

        We like dead stuff, but I’ve never then to that place.

        • lynette77 says:

          It scares me a little when you say y’all “like dead stuff” but I’ll let it go for now.

          I don’t know that it is worth a trip to Del Norte JUST for this place, but if you are in the neighborhood anyway (visiting that evil big-box, Home Depot), it is definitely worth the extra couple of miles north to check it out.

          And at the same time, you can make a little side trip to Fort…. argh, I wish I could remember the name. Maybe Google will help.. nope.. anyhoo, if you’re up that way, note the highway signs. There is an old military fort site northeast of Crescent City that was established during the “indian wars”. Interesting little bit of local history…

  2. Tapperass says:

    Yes Lynette, Dutch Brothers now sits where the Stump House was. That brings back memories.

    • lynette77 says:

      It is amazing how many things just literally disappear over time. I guess it also tells you something about the changing dynamics of the tourism industry here.

      When I was young, Old Town Eureka was a scary place–my mom worked for the welfare office and would get folks that “lived” in the Vance Hotel, when it was empty, and would tell me NEVER to go through that area alone. Yet look at it now. Revitalization at its finest 🙂

  3. Nan Abrams says:

    This photo is fun to see–I remember that stump house being in Eureka when I first moved here–now I wonder what happened to it. There was a lot of “funkiness” about Eureka that I loved about it back then–much that I miss. Speaking of which, does anyone know where on the Arcata Plaza Brett Harte’s house was? I think it was in the middle of the north end, but would like confirmation.

    • lynette77 says:

      I’ve been told two stories about which house is Bret Harte’s… and will try to get the street addresses for both next time I’m in Arcata.

      I do know both are at least two blocks west of the Plaza, one on 10th street. It is small, yellow, I think, and houses a dentist office.

  4. Jim Baker says:

    I just turned 66 on June 25, but didn’t realize how old that was until reading your post re: Shipwreck aquarium. One of my first jobs in the early 60’s was helping construct the place and collect sealife to populate it. My goal at the time was to become a marine biologist. After it opened, one of my main jobs first thing in the morning was to find and retrieve the resident octopus who regularly escaped from his aquarium and hid somewhere on the premises.

    • lynette77 says:

      Happy Birthday Jim !
      I wish that place was still around. When my kids were younger, every summer we’d make the trip to Crescent City to see their aquarium (ok, a little bigger than the “boat” at King Salmon, but still….). It would be nice to have our own little place like that…

  5. Eric says:

    A couple of other gems in the Log House neighborhood: the Triangle Motel and the woolen mill building, both landmarks in their day.

    • lynette77 says:

      Woolen Mill building? I’m intriqued. Was it an actually woolen mill, or just the name of some sort of tourist attraction?

      The Triangle Motel sounds familiar… was it trashy and did they tear it down? Where was it?

      • Ron says:

        If memory serves, the triangle motel was one of the motels on South Broadway, on the east side of the street up against the hill sort of between Henderson and Hawthorne…. Can’t be sure, but sure rings a bell.

  6. Dave says:

    I recall it being a souvenir stand in 1978 when I first came up here.

    I went inside, and quickly came back out. It was a little too confined in there for me!

    • lynette77 says:

      It is fun, though, to imagine what a novelty is must have been for tourists to be inside a redwood tree… It is so easy to forget how rare they really are.

      Actually, was it even a real tree, or just a structure built to mimic one?

      When I was a kid we’d go hiking in the redwoods and ran across not one, but two, big ole redwood trees that “hermits” had moved into and turned into homes, one complete with wood stove and loft. The park folks eventually found him and booted him out… but maybe he just disappeared deeper into the forest…

  7. Bear Bones says:

    I could be wrong, but I thought that Stump House building got moved down to southern Humboldt right by French’s Camp. Maybe it is a different one, but it sure looks exactly the same and it showed up about the same time the one in Eureka disappeared, maybe the early 90s. The one I am thinking of is now in front of the tourist trap across from the old Hartsook Inn.

    • lynette77 says:

      I’d never thought much about what happened to it, but really, what would you do with such a thing? It would be cool to know whether or not the one in SoHum is the same–if you ever hear, please let me know.

  8. Bear Bones says:

    Well, I was wrong. After making that assumption for quite some time, this thread got to me and just called them. I guess people ask that a lot, but no it is not the same.

    Sorry.

  9. Ron says:

    Hey Lynette,
    Home with my sick daughter and scoping out your blog. Fun note for you regarding Shipwreck… was one of my favorite places as a little kid. They had an on-floor open aquarium with mud sharks and starfish and stingrays, you name it. I used to love going in there, BUT… Outside attached to a 4 or 5 foot post was a shell of a “Giant Man-Eating Clam.” The thing must have been 3 foot or more in diameter and I was scared to death it was going to eat me…. Well you know my mom… had to have a picture of me in front of it. So somewhere in her pictures I have a shot of me in front of it about 4 or 5 years old, balling my eyes out and in fear of my life! LOL! Great job on the blog btw!!!

  10. Geoff says:

    I think the land bound boat you’re referring to was a county owned dredge, the Jupiter, that burned several years ago.

    • Lynette M says:

      That may be right. I talked to someone recently who remembers it containing an aquarium… I seem to remember a gift shop.

      This is why it is so important (in my opinion) to take photos of even the mundane things all around us right now. Some day, these buildings, businesses and people will all be gone and photos might be the only source of info we have.

  11. Doug says:


    Here’s the old Shipwreck outside of King Salmon CA.. I remember it being Yellow, but still quite mysterious. If memory serves, it burned down back in the early 90’s.

    On the same site this picture came from has a few more old pics from Eureka and the area. Neat to look at, and great blog.

  12. […] for historical context, see this blog entry about the Stump House.  I don’t know that they could have survived with help with the North Coast SBDC,  but they […]

Leave a Reply

