Photo of Old Town Eureka, c 1870

4th & E Streets, Eureka, c 1870

I believe those are chickens on the road behind the men.  Better than the pigs in Blue Lake, I guess…

The sign on the left says “Eureka Fish Market”.

We’re looking uphill, so I’m guessing away from the bay… I don’t recognize any of the buildings, but it is not impossible that one or two still exist…  If anyone makes their way to Old Town and recognizes anything from the photo, please let me know.

2 Responses to Photo of Old Town Eureka, c 1870

  1. Nan Abrams says:

    I am going into Eureka tomorrow–I will try to get by the library and look up Eureka Fish Market in an 1870 directory. I will post what I find.

Leave a Reply

