Buhne’s Boat, c. 1882

Mary Ann Buhne, c. 1882

So I liked this drawing as much for the land marks behind it as anything else. 

That is obviously suppose to be Table Bluff on the left and there are two little houses/structures on the peninsula on the right… 

Oh, and it looks like that tug boat is actually pulling the little ship behind it out of the bay. 

Ok, kinda random, but when I don’t have time to write, I figure I can at least dig up and post old photos/drawings.

4 Responses to Buhne’s Boat, c. 1882

  1. Nan Abrams says:

    cool–I suppose that long thingamajig up in the air is damage on the drawing?

    • lynette77 says:

      Yeah, I just enlarged my version of the drawing and it just looks like a scratch.

      I did just notice that there are also boats in the water outside the harbor. I don’t know how accurate the drawing is, but is sure makes the bay/waterfront look like a busy place !

    • lynette77 says:

      Me, too ! I met a guy a few years ago that operated a tug in Humboldt Bay–I guess they are/were still needed to bring some of the bigger vessels in… I’ve never seen it in action, though.

Leave a Reply

