Brizard Building (Jacoby Storehouse) c 1900

Brizard Building (aka Jacoby Storehouse) c. 1900

Darn.  It hasn’t changed much in one hundred and ten years, has it?

Jacoby Storehouse, present day

5 Responses to Brizard Building (Jacoby Storehouse) c 1900

  1. AJ says:

    Outside, yes. I wonder whether the colors on the building have changed.

    The inside is dramatically different. I wish more interior photos existed, and photos of how the adjoining buildings were used by the department store.

    • lynette77 says:

      Actually I heard the building to the east was a hotel and saloon. It seems like I’ve got a photo of it somewhere. If I run across it, I’ll post it here.
      There are some interior photos (which you likely already know) on the wall outside the interior entrance to the Plaza Grill. If I remember right, that center space of the restaurant used to be open to the commercial area below.

  2. capdiamont says:

    The next door one, reminds me of the Winchester mystery house.

  3. nan says:

    I notice in the photo Brizard did not have “Jacoby’s Storehouse” on the front. Anyone know when it was dutifully added?
    By the way, I am working on an article on Augutus (and his daughter Bertha) Jacoby. Should be in the Summer ’11 Humboldt Historian.

    • lynette77 says:

      Hey, I am so glad to hear about the article ! I can’t wait to read it.
      I don’t know when the building changed hands and Brizard took over. Anyone?

Leave a Reply

