Loggers and their cork boots

Loggers and their cork boots, Essex (taken from post card)

We’ve got a very old house and the stairs and wooden floors upstairs have all these little divets in the wood.  My husband’s great uncle told us they were likely from cork boots (keep clicking on the photo to enlarge and you’ll see ’em).

5 Responses to Loggers and their cork boots

  1. sad says:

    all I can think when I see that pic is how gut wrenchingly sad it is that they’re killing such an enourmous tree. Now trees that big are such a rarity, even in the thickest remaining groves. Nice blog, btw…I stop by often.

    • Lynette M says:

      What is even sadder is that the loss of that big ole tree didn’t even occur to me when I posted that photo. I’ve gotten so used to seeing them down… and everything surrounding us being second growth that I didn’t even consider what an incredible loss we’ve suffered…
      I am so glad you mentioned it-and for the reminder. When I talk about historic losses, it is not just buildings and people…

  2. Toohey says:

    Look at the floors in the Jacoby Store House, they have those cork boot marks.

    • Lynette M says:

      Oh, I’ll have to look. I’m surprised they wore those boots into “town” but I guess those loggers wouldn’t have cared much about propriety.

  3. […] know it breaks hearts to see the photographic ghosts of old growth redwoods, but it also hurts me to see all these great old buildings that just don’t exist anymore.  […]

Leave a Reply

