SoHum Pioneers

Undated photo-likely Southern Humboldt

This provides a good reminder to put names, dates and locations on your photos.  Someone a hundred years from now will be dying to know who in the hell they’re looking at !  And (this is just a personal recommendation) print hard copies of your photos.  Digital stuff is temporary, whether it seems that way or not.   Give your descendants something tangible to stick in a shoe box somewhere…

10 Responses to SoHum Pioneers

  1. Ross Rowley says:

    Oh great…More Newcomers to Southern Humboldt. (Tee Hee..That’s for Ernie Branscomb)

  2. olmanriver says:

    Nice picture! I believe that that may be the Duckett place somewhere on Elk Ridge, I seem to recollect seeing it labeled in the Cook collection. It is too bad that they don’t have a set of her volumes at the Hist. Society.
    I will check, and correct or confirm my recollection.

    Is that a chimney with a shake exterior?!

    • Lynette M says:

      ‘River,
      I should have figured you might identify it.

      I really don’t like to put unlabeled photos up, but I just really liked this one…

      If you do confirm, please let me know and I’ll add the caption for the other folks that find their way here.

  3. “Give your descendants something tangible to stick in a shoe box somewhere…”
    Darn good advice! Many of the stores that I would like to tell would be better with a picture.

    • Lynette M says:

      I just fear that all these digital images are vulnerable-one virus or whatever and they could be gone. Then again, I also prefer real, bound, hold-in-your hand paper books. Old fashioned, I guess.

  4. olmanriver says:

    I still want to know about the shake covered chimney-like structure?! Is it a chimney, a granary? Just guessing…need some help here.

  5. […] I thought I’d stick with the pioneer image theme  for one more […]

  6. Olmanriver
    When I was in Ireland we visited a country cabin. It was made out of stacked peat. The roof was made out of thatch. The fireplace was made with rocks placed around a fire pit at the narrow end of the cabin, and the chimney was…. wood boards.

    But, to answer your question, the pioneers didn’t have the money or recourses to make or buy cement. They often mortared their rock chimney with clay. The rain would wash the clay away, so they shingle roofed the clay and rocks. The chimney cap was most likely tin. Just like the picture.

  7. olmanriver says:

    Thanks Ernie.

Leave a Reply

