Find A Grave And Information

My ancestors, photo courtesy of Wes Keat and Debbie Davis

When I was eleven years old, I met Tom Hawbaker .  Our parents were friends, enjoying bar-b-cues and game nights,  and Tom and I were stuck together.  Fortunately we shared a fondness for Stephen King books and philosophical conversations.  Oh, and cemeteries.  I think hanging out among the dead was where we really bonded.

Seems were weren’t alone in our affection for graveyards.

My new friend and co-worker,  Wes Keat,  is an amazing researcher and genealogist.  He also surveys local cemeteries and takes photos of the markers.  He then uploads them to findagrave.com where descendants all over the world can “virtually” visit their ancestors and learn more about them from the information inscribed on grey marble and concrete slabs.

Wes also helps connect folks like me with other find-a-grave volunteers living elsewhere, so that we can see the graves of our ancestors buried long ago in far off places (like the one above in New Jersey).

Wes is generously allowing me to share his email: weskeat@prodigy.net.  He’s inviting folks to get in touch if they want help finding an ancestor’s grave.  He will also continue to survey the local cemeteries as time and weather permits and if you know of any tiny, tucked away cemetery he can photograph (or even better, family cemeteries on private land), please let him know. 

~L

9 Responses to Find A Grave And Information

  1. Kym Kemp says:

    If he ever does the Ettersburg Cemetery, I’d love to see the results. Supposedly my great grandmother is buried there but no one has ever found her marker. Supposedly she is either there or in the Briceland one.

  2. Lynette M says:

    I have to add, as I just realized, that I have never actually visited the grave of a family member. Ever.
    Thanks again, Wes, for the photos.

  3. Lynette, I hope you will hear from my cemetery friend, Julia Green. I met her as she was doing a digital history (virtual tour) of the Petrolia Pioneer Cemetery, called “Permanent Petrolians.” She lives in Arcata and is a really cool person, too– like you 🙂

    • Lynette M says:

      That is so great. I hope I hear from her too.
      I passed my map of the Scottsville cemetery to Wes and he found it and got some great photos he uploaded to findagrave.com

      Maybe your friend will be willing to (or already has) shared her info with the wider world…

  4. Susan V. says:

    In April of 2008, I went to Washington to my step- grandmother’s funeral. We went to the cemetary and the groundsman was so helpful in finding the marker of my grandfather’s first wife, who had passed when my dad was just 12. He had a map, and walked to the area, stuck a shovel in the ground, and up popped her simple marker that had long since sunk under the grass. It was powerful to see, as I never got to meet her, and only have a few pictures. It is emotional to stand where they are, so to speak. This is important stuff. Love the blog Lynette!

  5. Ross Rowley says:

    You folks would get a kick out of a Halloween event put on at the Fortuna Sunrise cemetery. Called Grave Matters, the event has actors portraying the permanent residents who succumbed to mysterious causes like death by Lysol, poisoned by whiskey, brothers killing brothers and falls into wells among other untimely departures. Mark your calendars for Sunday, October 30th.

  6. […] historian, Wes Keat,  took a drive out to Bridgeville and found this marker in their little […]

  7. […] then  I just took photos of headstones, ‘cause that damn Wes Keat got me started on […]

Leave a Reply

