From Humboldt Harbour, May 1850 (or: I killed an old crow to furnish me a pen)

4 Responses to From Humboldt Harbour, May 1850 (or: I killed an old crow to furnish me a pen)

  1. Random Guy says:

    Great find. That is some true poetry. The beginning of the end…what a fantastic first hand description. Also, from san francisco to humboldt, May, six days continuous rainstorm. Don’t see weather like that much anymore eh?

    • Lynette M says:

      Oh, we’ll see about this year…
      When I was in high school, I remember my shoes regularly being wet until 4th period because of my short walk to the bus stop in the rain. Again, and again, and again…

      On another topic, obviously I, too, love these early descriptions of Humboldt. Fortunately I don’t think the landscape here has changed as much as it has in other areas. Every day I drive to work and still marvel at how beautiful it all is and am thankful we haven’t totally overbuilt and screwed it up.
      ~L

      • Random Guy says:

        I spend regular amounts of time south. I can simply say “south” and it doesn’t matter where in california…it’s not like here, that’s for sure. South is a nice place to visit, but there’s no place like home. Your site is a goldmine of proof that it’s all changed and is still changing. A great way to look backwards at where we should be headed.

        • Lynette M says:

          Hi,
          I was just talking to someone about the south, about the prejudice that still exists, which seems so… foreign to me.
          Fortunately people do evolve and will continue to.

          Glad you’re enjoying the site.

Leave a Reply

