Eureka Times Building Still Stands

Eureka times Building, c.1909

Eureka Times Building, 6th & G

So I am walking down the road the other day and it strikes me that this building looks familiar.

There was a reason…

8 Responses to Eureka Times Building Still Stands

  1. Joel Mielke says:

    I would never have made the connection. It’s been enlarged as well as having had a facelift.

    • Lynette M says:

      Actually, when I look at the two photos, they do look pretty different, but the building manager told me it was the old Times building and described the remodeling that has taken place, down to the detail of telling me where the partial concrete floor is –it was installed to hold the weight of the old printing press.

  2. It’s just my opinion, but I don’t think that it is the same building.

    • Lynette M says:

      I know it looks a lot different, but Ken Moffitt, the property manager with an office inside, assured me it was. He explained the layout and some of the changes that were made over the years…

  3. Milton Phegley says:

    STOP THE PRESSES!! BREAKING NEWS!! These are two separate buildings belong to two separate newspapers. Yes, the Humboldt Standard building on “G” Street was remodeled. However, the Humboldt Times building (now demolished) stood on the wets side of “E” Street between Third and Fourth Streets. The building was located on the south side of the alley and is now a parking lot. The old Linotype machines were located just inside the front entrance (visible through the street-facing windows) and I well remember the smell and the clatter of the whole place from a tour given to this budding journalist in the late 1960’s by then-editor Scoop Beal. Two buildings..two separate histories.

    • Thank-you Milton
      As a lifelong builder, It just didn’t make sense to me that they would go to the trouble to change the major support columns and the window spacing. It would have been simpler to build a whole new building. Which apparently they did…

    • Lynette M says:

      You guys are so, so, so great !

      Thank you so much for the clarification. And now all the people I was driving insane with my misinformation can finally relax.
      On behalf of all of them, I thank you 🙂

  4. mrsfreebruce says:

    “Scoop” Beal was my great-grandfather. He work for both newspapers and then the merger of the two. The Eureka Times and the Humboldt Standard which eventually became the Eureka Times-Standard.

Leave a Reply

