Haunted Hallway

Eureka

Ok, this is a seriously odd photo.

I can’t see it as I type this, but will hope it is there.
And it refused to be lightened–first time ever I’ve had that problem.
 
Keep clicking and look for ghosts, folks.  I am quite confident they are there…
 
14 Responses to Haunted Hallway

  1. Kym Kemp says:

    Where is this? It looks so familiar. Eureka Inn? The Eureka Post office?

  2. Fred Mangels says:

    I don’t see any ghosts, and I’m an expert of sorts. I watch Ghost Hunters on TV.

  3. Ross Rowley says:

    I believe it’s the Ingomar Theater Building at 3rd and F. Above the Discovery Museum.

  4. deb says:

    yep, that’s it. before the hallways had cheap carpet installed

  5. Lynette M says:

    I probably shouldn’t admit this given where I currently work (it was a long time ago and maybe I’m making this up), but anyway,
    years ago I was wandering around in that building and kept… finding open doors. Stairways. I eventually found myself on the top floor (if this is the same building) in a large open space, once opulently decorated but then in ruins.

    Pigeons roosting on the the sills of broken windows, rubble on the floor. And the ghost of this incredible domed ceiling still visible.

    I’ve heard since that folks have been renovating that space. I really hope it is true.

  6. Ross Rowley says:

    Here is the story as I hear it. My mother worked in that building in 1950 and 1951. There is much written about the Ingomar Theater. It was a very opulent theater with huge procinium arches. The theater covered three floors on the interior of the building. In the 1970’s Simas Furniture operated out of the space now occupied by the Discovery Shop and fomerly The Works. As I heard the story, Mr. Simas leased the old space of the now vacant theater to store his warehoused furniture. In doing so, He built a floor where the second floor would be for storage. When he did it, he took a chainsaw to the arches and just destroyed the old theater. Now, Northern California Indian Development Council owns the building and there are hopes to restore the majestic theater to it’s former glory. It is currently being used for theater rehearsals, I believe. Now, this is all an unfounded story, but it seems to be retold by many.

    • Lynette M says:

      Oh, that story of the chainsaw just hurts.

      Let’s hope the rumored dreams regarding restoration are true.
      Though I’m torn. Despite the fact that rotting plaster and birds roosting on the windowless sills add no value, it was still very cool…

  7. Deb says:

    The arch over the stage on the third floor is still there, even had a lot of old bulbs still in it 5 years ago or so. A lot of the plaster had crumbled. What has happened to the space after the shop next door to the building burned and the fire department had to soak everything with water, I don’t know. It was still being used as a rehearsal space a year ago, but we were rehearsing in the room below it on the first floor.
    At one point there was a gym in the second floor space, don’t know what that is being used for.
    Although, come to think of it, the first floor room has a very high ceiling…

    • Lynette M says:

      Old bulbs? I’m intrigued. Did they look different? Were they old fixtures? What do you remember what it was about them that made them different from the curling things we have now. Or even the nice simple regular bulbs?

      I do remember the crumbling plaster. I claim to be unsentimental, but there is something about … what? Old, decaying, elderly… I really don’t know, but there is something about aging buildings that just… pulls my heart strings. I love them. Even the smell of old buildings. The … whatever it is. I just love it. I’m glad you’ve been there.

  8. Deb says:

    The building also had a taller roof at one time, like the old County Hospital, and those corner semi-towers were real towers. I think it was earthquake damage that cased them to flatten it.

    • Lynette M says:

      Oh, I would have loved to see those towers. This is just such a great reminder to take photos. Even of the boring, seemingly random stuff. We could have an earthquake tomorrow. We’d be fine, of course, but the buildings could be altered forever. Photos are the best record we’ve got…

  9. Jeff Cross says:

    Well, it’s been several years since this blog entry has been commented on, but I can tell you firsthand that this is indeed the top floor of the Carson Block building, which housed the Ingomar Theatre. I had an art studio in office no. 1, on the second floor, while my wife’s business occupied office no. 2, apparently William Carson’s original downtown office according to the little plaque on the door. She is still there, but has taken over office no. 1 ever sice I vacated. The theatre was indeed split horizontally for storage purposes, and the second floor section was painted, carpeted, and had hideous flourecent lighting installed. The third floor section was left in disrepair. The top of the stage opening was left as intact as it was after it was originally maimed, with some beautiful fillagree embellishments surviving still. Original wallpaper could still be found on the back wall, as well as the outline of the balcony stairs. It was haphazardly occupied for storage purposes by the Ink People at the time, and lots of old office furniture and junk piled without care on the sides of the place. I believe it had a tin ceiling. I took many photos in there, and would be happy to share them with you if I can find them easy enough.

    • Lynette M says:

      So sorry for my delayed response ! I would love to see any photos you’re willing to share-hopefully you’ve seen the restored building. It is quite beautiful again 🙂

      • Jeff Cross says:

        It is, isnt it? My wife has moved back into #’s 1 and 2 on the second floor (William Carson’s original office), and occupies the turret on the alley side of the building. Unfortunately, it seems that the theatre isnt being restored to its former glory, as the second story section of the original theatre space has been leased to an engineering consultant and turned ito cubicles. I’m not sure about the third story portion, which was really the only part of the theatre that still looked like an old theatre. Anyway, I’ll see about finding those photos!

Leave a Reply

