Historic Maple Syrup?

Maple syrup?

My husband thinks the container on the right may have once held maple syrup.

8 Responses to Historic Maple Syrup?

  1. Mr. Big says:

    My grandmother has one of those containers (in much better condition). I believe it was shaped like a log cabin and contained Log Cabin Syrup.

  2. It is an old Log Cabin Syrup can, my favorite when growing up.

    Log cabin syrup can

    • Lynette M says:

      I just talked to a friend who is going to let me photograph a bunch of wonderful old family relics. Cans and tins and … random stuff I’ll share here. I can’t wait.

  3. Ross Rowley says:

    Yep….that’s what it is.

  4. Jerry Rohde says:

    The rusty tin looks exactly like a Log Cabin maple syrup container from maybe the 1950s. I recall pouring the syrup out of the chimney when I was a kid. I have one of the cabins myself–it’s one of the treasures of my rust collection.

  5. tim says:

    The Tin is one of the small ones , came out late 40 though the 50’s
    A Log cabin syrup web site
    http://log-cabin-syrup.freehostia.com/LCSindex.htm

  6. Dale Richey says:

    as a kid in Arkansas about 1946 or so, I “blew” those up with firecrackers..wish I had saved at least one

Leave a Reply

