Harris (SoHum), Nov. 19, 1905

Really, photo detail doesn’t get much better than this.

Keep clicking to enlarge the photo and enjoy…

Once upon a time I did another post about how folks got their mail around Harris.

7 Responses to Harris (SoHum), Nov. 19, 1905

  1. Nan Abrams says:

    what a great photo!

  2. Sara says:

    You’re back!
    This is an amazing photo. These types of photos make me think about what we take for granted in our present day that possibly would be of interest for future generations to see in photos.
    I’ve been taking photos of the renovation of the old school house in Hydesville where the old Murrish Market was before it moved into the new building. I’d love to see an orignal photo of the old school house.
    If I may ask, where are you finding these photos?

    • Lynette M says:

      Actually, I’ve often thought that I should take photos of the simple everyday stuff we do now–as that is the stuff I find so interesting when I look at these old photos. How did they wash clothes? Heat water? Cook certain foods…. just the ordinary stuff is extraordinary when you think about how many technological advances we take for granted….
      Anyway, photos come from different places. Some are just random online sites. Some from HSU (some are digitized and online, some I asked them to scan), some from the County collection–where I went to scan them–as none were online. OH ! Some are from the collection of school photos from the Humboldt County Office of Education. Let me see if I have Hydesville for you …

    • Lynette M says:

      Damn. No Hydesville in my collection–though the following links to an incredible collection of Fortuna area photos and you may have luck there. Please let me know if you find any…

      http://gallery.sunnyfortuna.com/thumbnails.php?album=1

  3. […] political candidates,¬†Clif¬† and Estelle¬†.¬† We take gladness in knowing that ¬†Lynette‚Äôs back in the saddle again and the Mirror‚Äôs given a home¬†to¬†HOJ only because¬†the Herald banned¬†Henchie’s […]

Leave a Reply

