Early Photo of Arcata (from the cemetery)

Arcata Cemetery

So my plan was to move right along with the Minor/quarry/mausoleum theme, but then I enlarged this photo and got all distracted by the names on the other headstones and the view of the hillside behind the cemetery.

I would love to get a current photo of Arcata from that same place.  If anyone has the time and inclination to get a picture,  please send it on to me.

And as always, just keep clicking to enlarge the photo.

Hunt is an old and familiar Arcata name–anyone have a kid with braces out there?

6 Responses to Early Photo of Arcata (from the cemetery)

  1. Nan Abrams says:

    I have spent a great deal of time in that cemetery in the past year or so, tracking people down and taking photos, but cannot for the life of me determine which way this is facing. My guess is east because of the hills and the east/west orientation of the tombstones, but if they are there putting up the mausoleum, I would think they would be facing south.

  2. skippy says:

    Nan, I don’t know if this photo helps or not. Taken from the same series, the alternate title is ‘construction of mausoleum in Arcata cemetery.’

    Here’s another view of the Minor mausoleum, I think looking more northerly.

  3. Nan Abrams says:

    hmm, I dont think all those gee gaws are still in front of the mausoleum–I am almost certain they are not.. They nay have been removed to make space for the road that goes through the cemetery.. Progress . . . NOT . . . so the hills in the background could be north of the cemetery.

    • Lynette M says:

      Yeah, you were totally right according to Bill Alden’s photo (s). Kind of a bummer when that sort of detail/ornamentation gets lost–actually I think years ago we lost a lot of that with changes/streamlining/making very boring our architectural design anyway. Makes me sad….

      • Nan Abrams says:

        Sad, when the stones that once stood up are down and covered with grass and debris. Like Elizabeth Jacoby’s headstone. That should be set up right and cared for. I looked for some babies’ grave markers at the Myrtle Grove cemetery to photograph. I had seen them there years before so knew they were there–but they were gone–both for the Reilingers and the Loewenthals. They no doubt have sunk into the ground. I plan to go there with a shovel and the fellow from the City who knows where each plot is–hard to determine exactly with the map they have–and dig down and bring the markers back up.

  4. […] photos, taken in approximately the same location as the historical photos  I recently posted of the Arcata Cemetery and Isaac Minor’s mausoleum. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

