Seeking info re: Margaret Cobb (b. 1871) from SoHum

Hi everyone,

I was contacted by someone seeking information on Margaret Cobb, author (authoress ?) of Blaxine , which Cobb published in 1910 (quite a story and I urge you to click the link if you haven’t read my post). 

Anyone out there with stories, documents or photos?  I am confident that anything you have and are willing to share  would be very much appreciated…

If you can help, please email lynette.mullen@gmail.com

Thanks !

~L

3 Responses to Seeking info re: Margaret Cobb (b. 1871) from SoHum

  1. Ellin says:

    Margaret Smith Cobb (1871 San Jose, California – 1933)
    Husband Oliver Cobb (1858 Main – 16 May 1914 Oakland, CA)
    Married 1902 – Two children Lillian (Mrs. Samuel McCash) and Yvonne
    Residence 1600 acre ranch Eel River south of Garberville

    (quote) Margaret S. Cobb, whose poem, “Unkissed,” was printed in the September Century, is the author of the book, “Blaxine, Halfbreed Girl,” and she has also written short stories. “Unkissed” is her only poem. Jack London, after reading “Maxine, Halfbreed Girl,” told Miss Cobb that she was a poet, whereupon she turned her hand to poetry and wrote “Unkissed,” which was at once accepted by the Century. Miss Cobb lives in the North Coast Range mountains of California, and although she is somewhat of a frail woman she runs a stock range of 1,6000 acres all by herself. She was educated by her mother, who was a Chilean lady descended closely from a family of rank before Chilean independence. she does rare work old Spanish point lace, she paints and she engages in literary work, but only once in ten years has she left her beloved hills. Jack London calls her a primitive woman, and she is known by her literary friends as “The Lady of the Hills.” (end quote)

    The Writer, Volume 26 by William Henry Hills and Robert Luce, Pages 165 and 166
    http://books.google.com/books?id=yVoob8DXVegC

    The book was reviewed in the New York Times 15:203, April 9, 1910, 210w. reprinted in part by Book review digest, volume six, by H.W. Wilson company page 79
    http://books.google.com/books?id=2zcOAQAAMAAJ

    here is a long letter about her dated 1 October 1999 in the Rootsweb Norcal-L Archives
    http://archiver.rootsweb.ancestry.com/th/read/NORCAL/1999-10/0938792526 which quotes from “>From History of Humboldt County qc 979.412 I9 page 952ff”

    & finally there is a post on Ernie’s Blog
    http://ernielb.blogspot.com/2010_07_01_archive.html

    I’m sure there’s more, she sounds like a fascinating woman. What a wonderful story to start Easter!!

  2. Margaret says:

    Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for rookie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  3. I just happened upon your blog this morning and I’m in love! I may be late in getting to the party, but I plan to stay for the very last dance. I find that I have a slightly addictive personality trait when I am so intrigued by something new and exciting so I’m sure I’ll catch up quickly. Thank you for sharing Lucy and her family with us (me).

Leave a Reply

