Not all change is bad-The Old Daly’s Store

This just wasn’t pretty.

Eureka.Dalys.HSU.1999_01_0999b

But this is.

Eureka.ArkleyCntr.Saxxon

So I was feeling all clever and original in creating this post until I picked up the latest local book by Arcadia Publishing–this one is a “Then & Now” (mostly) photo book of Eureka written by local photographer (and now author) Scott H. Brown.  Scott shows almost exactly what I posted above on page 54-but since his book is already published. he clearly came up with it first–and his photos include interesting info like the Daly brothers came from Ireland to Eureka in 1892, established the Daly’s Dept. Store and that when the chain of five Daly’s stores closed in 1995, it was Northern California’s oldest independently owned department store chain.

Scott’s book is cool. Seriously. It is full of historic images (anywhere from 50 to 150 years old) contrasted with present-day photos. He also has great info in the captions. Scott works at Old Town Coffee and Chocolates and you can find him, signed copies of his book,  and a great mocha or cup of tea there.

16 Responses to Not all change is bad-The Old Daly’s Store

  1. The really sad thing is that underneath that plain facade was a beautiful old building they had chosen to cover up

  2. aklucia says:

    I used to just love that store. It was pretty heartbreaking to see Daly’s go under after the advent of the mall. What a warren of a building, and the elevator was so useful as a young mom with a stroller. I remember in the early ‘70s the main part of town was alive. I think it was Kress’s that had a lunch counter and there were two stores that sold lovely china — Lincoln’s and Walsh’s — two candy stores, a tea room-like luncheon place on a side street in the middle of town (I wish I could remember its name!). The Eureka Inn had a luncheon room that had the best little hideaway table where a private conversation could remain private! And don’t forget the men’s store on the corner that sold very elegant and timeless clothing! I miss it all.

  3. playfred says:

    Every weekend i used to pay a visit this site, for the reason that i wish for enjoyment,
    as this this web page conations actually nice funny information too.

  4. Robbie says:

    I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the great works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll.

  5. Muhammad says:

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added”
    checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that
    service? Thank you!

  6. Manie says:

    I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and amusing, and let me
    tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that
    too few folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy that I found this in my hunt for something regarding this.

  7. Great web site. Plenty of helpful information here.

    I am sending it to some buddies ans also sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thanks for your effort!

  8. I was able to find good information from your
    blog articles.

  9. Having read this I thought it was very informative. I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  10. mobile apps says:

    This paragraph will assist the internet visitors for creating
    new webpage or even a blog from start to end.

  11. One cake can be made by spreading on strawberry preserves.
    Restaurants are often hard to recommend because my
    idea of a $40 and yours might be different. Applesauce is a great no-fat low-sugar
    alternative panckae topping.

  12. bligoo.com says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say you have done a very good job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Chrome. Excellent Blog!

  13. Shawnee says:

    You are so interesting! I do not believe I’ve read through something like that before.
    So great to discover somebody with some original thoughts on this subject matter.
    Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This site is something that is needed on the internet, someone
    with a little originality!

  14. World events, situations, groups, causes, people, animals and more that are important to you.

    Basically following a model, or teacher created idea. In yesteryear,
    kids were really fascinated about all kinds of
    art and crafts.

Leave a Reply

