Dredge on Humboldt Bay

HSU.Eureka.DredgeWShoreline.PalmYale.2012_02_0246

Source: Humboldt State University Special Collection, Palmquist/Yale

I remember having a dredge in the south end of Humboldt Bay– just west of CR and north of the Eucalyptus grove on Hwy 101 but after enlarging this photo, I don’t think this is it–notice the town/settlement on the left.

Please enlarge as there is a lot of great detail aside from the dredge (including the guy standing on it).

 

9 Responses to Dredge on Humboldt Bay

  1. nan says:

    great photo–did you notice the other fellow walking towards the one on the dredge?

  2. ysgrace says:

    So glad you are back! Have you read the late Wally Grave’s story about the Jupiter dredge? (the one you mention near C/R, but not the one in this pic). Wally was the brother of Morris Graves. He wrote for the NC Journal. He was a fine man. This article is almost 20 years old. I still look toward where the Jupiter once was. http://www.northcoastjournal.com/MAY95/01COVER.HTM

  3. nan says:

    Glad I’m back? You did not even know I was gone! HA! Great story. I thought I had read it–and maybe I had –but I just read it again.

  4. lophatt says:

    I lived in Humboldt County for 20 years and worked at HSU for 13 years. I remember driving by that dredge near Beatrice Flats. At one time, I think it had been painted pink. If you could find a photo of it for me, that would be super. I am enjoying your blog. Thanks,
    Nicki Fuller, Poulsbo, Wa.

  5. Marmaduke says:

    This certainly suggests Woodley Island about where the marina is now, the current bridge would be to the right maybe, the boatyard where the Wiyot house is now may be off to the right there..I don’t think this was that boatyard unless there has been a lot of erosion (and I believe there may be such) at the north end of the island. So…this could be that boatyard..or not. Likely there were many more boatyards as wooden boats were built around the Bay.
    Very interesting, thanks Lynette.

Leave a Reply

