Carson Block – Then and Stucco and Now

Please click on the photos to enlarge and see details.

1892.12.23_Daily Humboldt Times (Humboldt County Library)

1892.12.23: Daily Humboldt Times (Humboldt County Library)

1904- Souvenir Photo-Carson Block Ext (Humboldt County Library)

1904- Souvenir Photo (Humboldt County Library)

Carson Block Building (Humboldt County Historical Society)

Humboldt County Historical Society

Carson Block Building (Humboldt County HIstorical Society)

Humboldt County Historical Society

NCIDC Collection

NCIDC Collection

NCIDC Collection

NCIDC Collection

North Coast Journal, January 2016

North Coast Journal, January 2016

12 Responses to Carson Block – Then and Stucco and Now

  1. lnaymorgan says:

    I love this building and I know you have been following every aspect of its renovation!!! Great photos!!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Ron Gallagher says:

    That’s cool! Love seeing it “change” yet remain the same through the years. And I remember when The Works was there. I remember Simas as well, just not sure if I remember it from that location.

  3. april4980 says:

    I remember when it was the works. My mom worked there. The renovation is turning out beautifully.

    • I remember it being the Works also. Do you know what year or years the Works was located there?

      • Ron Gallagher says:

        I won’t swear by this, but I think early 80s…. They opened in Arcata in 1971 and move to G St in Eureka shortly after according to their website. Again, its the small things that stick in my brain. I remember the beautiful hand-painted mural on the side of the building, but I can’t remember which location that was at (I think 5th St.), or whether that was pre or post the Carson Block… Sorry, I think I am getting old or something. LOL!

      • Lynette M says:

        I’m afraid I don’t, though Ron says likely early 70s.

  4. Fulkerson Julie says:

    Great progression! Very exciting to see this evolve. Another reason t visit and appreciate Eureka.

  5. nanhum says:

    Sorry to be a party pooper–the renovation is wonderful— but the color disappoints me. .. I have not seen the building since the renovation first began –have been away–so have not seen its completion– but based on the photo, it looks like the “redwood” paint that is used on fences. , Like the red trim on the health department building that was put on a number of years ago and since removed.

    • Lynette M says:

      Hi Nan,
      Sorry to hear you don’t like the color but I believe they were trying to get as close to the original color as possible. Hopefully over time it will grow on you 🙂

      • nanhum says:

        Lynette, if that is close to the original color then like it or not, I will call it good. But I think there is too much red in it. I am only going by photos so I might not be seeing what is really there. When I am back next year, I will see for myself.

  6. Jessica says:

    Wow! What a nice color transformation!

Leave a Reply

